WHAM

19 10 2007

Well, yesterday I thought it might have been the last good day of the season.  I was wrong.  Today was.  I spent a lot of time and a lot of gas today driving around Leelanau capturing some of the best fall color I could find.  I drove all the way up to Peterson Park past Northport and then later I went down past Glen Arbor to Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes national park.  I got home just in time to witness a first here for me in Northern Michigan.  HAIL.  Right towards the end of my driving home we got hit hard with some severe storms.  In some of my later photos at Sleeping Bear you can see the storms approaching shore.  With thunder and lightning in the distance I decided that I needed to get out of there and get home.  You can see all the pictures at leelanauphotography.com but here is some of the hail.  I’ve only ever seen hail twice in my life, this being the second time.  The first time was when I was working at the American Boychoir summer camp and driving through the mountains of Pennsylvania.  That hail storm was much more dangerous (golf ball size).  This was pea size hail here.

HAIL

Actions

Information

One response

19 10 2007
Sarah

I love your blog! You and I are alike on so many levels- I love philosophy. Poor Brian- heehee. Hail was new for me too. It hails here a lot- thankfully just pea sized usually. Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

