My Mile Marker

11 11 2007

Dam it all to hell. Ok so I started using this new web browser (see earlier post) that has an integrated blog platform so I could blog while viewing web sites (ya I know I’m such a freaking geek) and I had a nice long post about this web site My Mile Marker that I tried to save as a draft. Well, it’s gone, lost, somewhere in cyber land. So I’m starting over, this time from the WordPress web site editor so I know it won’t be lost. God I hate technology sometimes.

ANYHOW………..

If you have not figured it out already, I’m a tech geek and I love stupid useless web sites and internet crap. I’ve started using a web site called mymilemarker.com to keep track of a few things pertaining to my driving habits and what it’s costing me. If you’ve not seen this web site you really should sign up for it and do it. It requires you to do three things. When you fill up your tank at a gas station you need to write down your current odometer reading, the number of gallons you put in your vehicle and the cost per gallon. From those 3 things, this web site develops forecasts and trends that show you where you will be at a date in the future determined by you. Here are my figures. I’ve set the end date of the forecast at October 27, 2008. So, by that date I will have:

1: 153401 miles on my car (a 20000 increase from today – pretty accurate if I stay in Leelanau County)

2: I will average 27 miles per gallon (a bit high for my make and model car but not that far off since all my miles are highway miles

3: I will have spent $2577.79 on fuel.

Check out my history:

Date Odometer Gallons Price MPG
November 11th, 2007 (DeleteLoading...) 131043 10.67 $3.279 N/A
November 5th, 2007 130601 9.06 $3.199 N/A
November 2nd, 2007 130356 10.94 $3.199 27.03
October 31st, 2007 130178 6.02 $2.989 N/A
October 25th, 2007 129957 10.35 $2.899 N/A

Look at the cost per gallon of gas since October 25! There are also cool little graphs and other things on the web site too that show these numbers visually. Anyhow, if you like geeky things it’s pretty cool. It’s also quite useful for asking the question: WHAT THE FUCK ARE WE DOING ABOUT GAS PRICES? WHY ARE WE NOT HAVING A MASSIVE REVOLT?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

