Can you be a consistant hypocrite?

16 12 2007

I’ve been thinking about this post for a few days now and since tonight I am the only one in my house besides my animals, I’ll give it a shot. It’s hard to put some of this in words because to me, so much of being consistent in life has to do with actions, not words. Action is hard to define on paper. The point of this is to express my frustration with those people in my life right now who are inconsistent but do not know it. (Afterthought, I was going to be overly vague but the person I am bitching about won’t read this so who cares and you all know who it is, and it’s not Jirar).

Consistancy is believing that something is important and defining your actions in accordance with that thing to you that is important. For example, it is inconsistent for you to decry abortion but support the death penalty. While they are two different things the end result is the same: death. You either support life or you don’t. Consistancy is supporting a right to choose abortion and believing the death penalty is acceptable. I’m not here to argue the merits of either position so don’t ask.

For you dear roommate:

Consistency is believing that energy conservation is important to the future of the planet and living your life reflective of that belief even when it’s difficult to do so. It is inconsistent to believe energy conservation is important while leaving energy sources running while you are away or not utilizing alternative energy sources when they are easily available to you. In other words, if you leave the house again with your space heater on HIGH and fail to turn it off when you are not utilizing it you are INCONSISTENT with your belief structure and thus a hypocrite. In other words, when I come home and find a thermostat on 75 because you are cold but a wood stove that utilizes a renewable energy source sits cold you are being inconsistent with your belief structure and thus a hypocrite.

Until you can address both of those issues, I never want to hear you decry the pathetic energy policy of the USA. I never want to hear you holler about the high cost of fuel or drilling in the Alaskan wilderness. I don’t want to hear you bitch about people you think are wasteful energy hogs until you have proven you are not a wasteful energy hog yourself. TURN YOUR SHIT OFF BEFORE YOU LEAVE THE HOUSE!

While we are on the subject, I don’t want my readers to get the impression that I am preaching mandatory conservation. The fact of the matter is (and I’ll be blunt), I could give a shit. Sure, I think conservation is important but I am not going to change my daily habits drastically in order to save a tree that the jack ass down the road is going to cut down anyway so he can build his million dollar home in Leelanau!. I am a realist, not an idealist. It is idealistic to think that by burning wood rather than gas I am somehow saving the planet. I do believe that one is better than the other but I also believe that both heating methods cause pollution. I also think that it’s a good idea to turn energy sources off when you leave the room or when you are not using them. I don’t believe this for any ecological reason but rather I would prefer not to burn down my house and have to go through all the freaking work of replacing everything I own! DUH.

What it all comes down to is this. I don’t have time in my life for hypocrites, lairs, cheats and fools. Unfortunately all of us on this planet have some of those 4 qualities to a certain degree. That might be tough for you to swallow but there are no saints among us are there? The easiest one of those 4 for us to be is a hypocrite, it is also the worst for us to be because when you are a hypocrite, you are in fact a lier, cheat, and a fool. You can be a fool without being a hypocrite, you can be a lier without being a hypocrite, you can be a cheat without being a hypocrite but you can’t be a hypocrite without incorporating the qualities found in the other 3 terms. Live your life in accordance with the beliefs you espouse but do not espouse beliefs you are unable to live up to.  If the world could live by the logic in that sentence, this would be a happy hippy commune.

Observe the picture below. Do you think the driver of this vehicle is living his or her life in accordance with the beliefs they espouse? Probably not.

Jesus Car

Actions

Information

One response

16 12 2007
Sarah

David- you must see “The Golden Compass.” Maybe we can see it when I’m up there for Christmas. It is a slam against oppressive religion thought. The most refreshing movie I’ve seen in a long time!

Leave a Reply

